Contribute

Juvenile Fiction

Science Fiction/ Fantasy

Available: July 11, 2017 | ISBN 9781631630989 | paperback | 288 pages | 5.5 in. x 8.25 in. | World (translation, audiobook, media rights) | $14.99 US (trade paperback), $8.99 US (e-book)
  • indiebound
  • shop amazon
  • shop bn
  • shop BAM
  • shop Nook

Contribute

The Holo Series, BOOK 2 OF 2

by Kristy Acevedo

To preorder, select your favorite vendor from the list below.

Alexandra Lucas decided to trust the mysterious holograms and step through the portal to the future. But she soon finds out that the holograms lied about the apocalypse—and now she’s trapped in the future, and her anxiety is worse than ever. Can Alexandra get back home and get the truth out?

The holograms lied to everyone on Earth, and only Alexandra Lucas knows the truth. Now she's trapped in the year 2359 without family or friends—worse, without her anxiety medication.

Alex attempts to reconcile the marvelous scenery, technological advances, and luxurious living with the knowledge that the holograms weren't being completely honest—what else are they lying about?

With a secret that could shatter her society, Alex tries to find her place among strangers, convicts, and a rebellion striving to bring the holograms down. Alex struggles to find the best way to reveal the truth and reunite with those she loves. But when surrounded by beauty and every convenience, Alex wonders if truth becomes irrelevant in a perfect world.

Praise/Reviews

“The allure of a better world combined with the deterioration of human behavior in the wake of Earth’s anticipated demise is the perfect way to infuse complex moral issues and deep philosophical questions in a fast-paced adventure that will keep readers compulsively turning pages to see what will happen next . . . Educators will welcome the opportunities the book presents for deep thinking. VERDICT: Order multiple copies of this must-have for fans of Rick Yancey’s The Fifth Wave and Neal Shusterman’s Unwind.” —School Library Journal on Consider

“Acevedo’s voice is pitch-perfect for YA, a mix of Veronica Roth and Suzanne Collins. She’s got a tremendous sense of pacing. Her story is original, cinematic, perfect for Harry Potter graduates, or Hunger Games and Divergent fans. But it’s Acevedo’s voice that bowled me over. It’s seasoned. It’s confident. And this is her first book.” —South Coast Today on Consider

“Acevedo gives the reader amazing sci-fi Easter eggs, as well as a roller-coaster of a story! Consider will have you searching for the nearest Tardis to time travel to the release date of the sequel!" —Kristine Carlson Asselin, author of Any Way You Slice on Consider

“Consider propels people through the anxious, confused, and (at times) humorous thoughts that ricochet through Alex as she struggles to face the apocalypse . . . an exciting, thought-provoking, hi-def read.” —Patricia Pronovost, bookseller at Books by the Sea, on Consider

“Measured pacing, captivating relationships, and unexpected plot turns make Consider an exciting debut. And the breathtaking conclusion will leave you yearning for the second book” —The South Coast Almanac on Consider

“Step by step, we explore a drastically changed world, where we all must consider an invitation to escape the Earth's doom, and join a parallel world. I won't say more about the plot—I'll leave that to the book itself." —Judy Sheehan, playwright and author of I Woke Up Dead in the Mall on Consider

“Acevedo takes us on a wild, yet authentically human ride in this book. We care about the characters: their struggles, their fears, their hopes. This is the first in a series, and you are going to be glad that Acevedo has decided to do more of these books. And if they are even half as good as this one, you're going to want to buy them, too! Well done! —Wendy McKnight, author of It’s a Mystery, Pig-Face! on Consider

Related Title(s)
Consider